Posted by: macintoshsisters | August 12, 2008

Is the iPod, at long last, a high-end audio component?

I never thought I’d say this, but I’m starting to think the iPod is a true high-end audio component. What’s changed? I heard it in my high-end system, docked into Wadia’s 170i Transport ($379). I can now testify to the iPod’s bona fides.

Thing is, an iPod, even one loaded with uncompressed AIFF or WAV files, isn’t all by itself a high-end component, but teamed with Wadia’s 170i Transport, aka, dock, an iPod is elevated to high-end status. The transformation takes place when the Wadia transmits the iPod’s zeros and ones to an outboard digital-to-analog (D/A) converter in your A/V receiver, or even better, a standalone high-end D/A. Wadia’s claims that the 170i is the first and only “dock” to extract a digital output from an unmodified iPod.

FULL article at c|Net


Categories